ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX / HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw)

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX: GU605CX: the RTX 5090 Laptop GPU version; the GU605CX-QR111W and GU605CX-XS98 listed by ASUS come with 64 GB of memory and a 2 TB SSD. In the US, the GU605CX-G16.U9X5090 sold by Best Buy is listed with 32 GB. The same chassis is also sold with the RTX 5060/5070/5070 Ti/5080.

HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw): B88D7EA · Core Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB / 1 TB, 2560 × 1600 240 Hz IPS

SpecificationASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CXHP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw)
Release year20252025
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 285H; 16 cores, 16 threads; 2.9 GHz base, up to 5.4 GHz; 24 MB cache

The processor’s Intel AI Boost NPU delivers up to 13 TOPS of AI processing; some Windows AI features use this unit instead of the graphics card.

ASUS
Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache

Intel lists 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power for this chip; actual power in the laptop depends on HP's tuning and cooling.

HP
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop GPU, 24 GB GDDR7; ROG Boost 1647 MHz; 120 W (100 W + 20 W Dynamic Boost)

120 W is the upper power limit including Dynamic Boost: the extra 20 W is shifted to the GPU when the processor load is low and is not always available. The RTX 5070 Ti version of the same chassis is limited to 115 W, and the RTX 5060 and 5070 versions to 105 W.

ASUS
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU; 16 GB GDDR7; Advanced Optimus

This is the laptop RTX 5080, not the desktop card. HP's product sheet does not give the GPU power limit (TGP) for this SKU. Advanced Optimus switches the display between integrated and discrete GPU without a reboot.

HP
Graphics switchingMUX Switch and NVIDIA Advanced Optimus

Advanced Optimus switches the internal display between the processor’s integrated graphics and the RTX 5090 without a restart. The MUX switch connects the display directly to the RTX 5090, removing the integrated graphics from the path in games.

ASUS
—
Display16-inch 2.5K (2560 × 1600) OLED, 16:10, 240 Hz; 100% DCI-P3; G-Sync; Pantone Validated

240 Hz shows up to 240 frames per second in games; G-Sync matches the display refresh rate to the graphics card’s frame rate to prevent tearing. Pantone Validated means the display colours are verified against Pantone reference colours. ASUS does not give brightness or response time on this page.

ASUS
16-inch WQXGA 2560 × 1600, 16:10, IPS, anti-glare; 60–240 Hz, 3 ms

Games need high frame rates to benefit from 240 Hz; the panel follows variable frame rates with G-SYNC.

HP
Display surfaceAnti-glare, low-reflection coating (AGLR)

The coating is used to reduce reflections from lamps and windows in bright rooms.

ASUS
—
Memory64 GB LPDDR5X-7467, soldered on board, dual channel; no memory slot

Memory cannot be upgraded later; the capacity chosen at purchase is permanent.

ASUS
32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB), dual-channel; 2 slots

Both slots are filled; upgrading means replacing the modules. HP does not list the maximum capacity on this page.

HP
Storage2 TB M.2 NVMe PCIe 4.0 SSD; 2 × M.2 PCIe slots in total

The second M.2 slot allows an extra SSD. ASUS gives no separate PCIe generation for the free slot.

ASUS
1 TB PCIe Gen5 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 M.2 SSD slots

The second M.2 slot allows adding another SSD later.

HP
Ports1 × Thunderbolt 4 (40 Gbps, DisplayPort, power input); 1 × USB-C 10 Gbps (DisplayPort, power input, G-SYNC); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbps; HDMI 2.1 FRL; UHS-II SD card reader (312 MB/s); 3.5 mm audio

Both USB-C ports support an external display and charging; the 10 Gbps USB-C port also carries G-SYNC to an external display. ASUS does not state the USB-C charging power.

ASUS
2 × Thunderbolt 4 USB-C (40 Gbit/s, DisplayPort 2.1, power delivery); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbit/s; HDMI 2.1; RJ-45; headphone/mic jack; smart pin power connector

The USB-C ports carry DisplayPort 2.1 for external monitors; HP does not state on this page whether they can charge the laptop itself.

HP
WirelessWi-Fi 7 (802.11be), tri-band, 2×2; Bluetooth 5.4 ASUSIntel Wi-Fi 7 BE200 (2×2); Bluetooth 5.4 HP
Battery and adapter90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 240 W adapter (20 V, 12 A)

ASUS’s Middle East page also lists a 100 W USB-C adapter in the box and notes that the adapter can vary by region and model.

ASUS
—
Audio2 tweeters and 4 speakers with dual force-cancelling woofers; Smart Amp; Dolby Atmos; 3-microphone array, AI noise cancelling

The force-cancelling woofer layout uses opposing drivers to reduce bass vibration passing into the chassis.

ASUS
Two speakers, DTS:X Ultra, tuned with HyperX HP
Camera and keyboard1080p FHD IR camera (Windows Hello); single-zone RGB backlit keyboard; Slash Lighting on the lid

The IR camera enables face sign-in with Windows Hello.

ASUS
—
Dimensions and weight35.4 × 24.6 × 1.49–1.74 cm; 1.95 kg

The RTX 5060 and 5070 versions are 1.64 cm and 1.85 kg; the RTX 5070 Ti, 5080 and 5090 versions are 1.74 cm and 1.95 kg.

ASUS
—
Operating systemWindows 11 Home or Windows 11 Pro (depending on SKU) ASUSWindows 11 Home HP
Product number—B88D7EA (OMEN MAX 16-ah0999nw)

The OMEN MAX 16 family includes other GPU, display (IPS/OLED) and AMD-based versions; this entry covers the Intel + RTX 5080 + IPS configuration.

HP
Chipset—Intel HM870 HP
NPU—Intel AI Boost, 13 TOPS HP
Brightness and colour—500 nits; 100% sRGB; DC dimming (flicker-free), Eyesafe low blue light HP
Keyboard—Full-size, per-key RGB backlight, numeric keypad, NKRO and anti-ghosting HP
Wired network—2.5 GbE Ethernet HP
Webcam—1080p FHD, IR camera (Windows Hello), dual microphones HP
Cooling—OMEN Tempest Cooling; vapour chamber and Cryo Compound thermal material; Fan Cleaner

HP says the Unleashed mode in OMEN Gaming Hub allows manual CPU and GPU overclocking and that Fan Cleaner reduces dust build-up.

HP
Battery—83 Wh, 6-cell lithium-ion polymer

Fast charge to about 50% in 30 minutes with the system off (±10%).

HP
Power adapter—330 W AC HP
Dimensions—35.7 × 26.9 × 2.3 cm (front) / 2.5 cm (rear) HP
Weight—2.68 kg HP
Body—Shadow Black, aluminium lid and base; light bar HP
Warranty—2-year limited (parts and labour)

Warranty terms vary by country.

HP