Laptops · 2025 · HP

HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw)

The OMEN MAX 16 is HP's 16-inch high-end gaming laptop. This configuration pairs a Core Ultra 9 275HX with an RTX 5080 Laptop GPU with 16 GB of GDDR7, a 240 Hz IPS display, two Thunderbolt 4 ports and two accessible RAM and M.2 slots. Tests confirm strong gaming performance; high CPU temperatures under load, short battery life and the 2.7 kg weight are the main limits.

B88D7EA · Core Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB / 1 TB, 2560 × 1600 240 Hz IPS

Specifications

SpecificationValue
Product numberB88D7EA (OMEN MAX 16-ah0999nw)

The OMEN MAX 16 family includes other GPU, display (IPS/OLED) and AMD-based versions; this entry covers the Intel + RTX 5080 + IPS configuration.

ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache

Intel lists 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power for this chip; actual power in the laptop depends on HP's tuning and cooling.

ChipsetIntel HM870
NPUIntel AI Boost, 13 TOPS
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU; 16 GB GDDR7; Advanced Optimus

This is the laptop RTX 5080, not the desktop card. HP's product sheet does not give the GPU power limit (TGP) for this SKU. Advanced Optimus switches the display between integrated and discrete GPU without a reboot.

Memory32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB), dual-channel; 2 slots

Both slots are filled; upgrading means replacing the modules. HP does not list the maximum capacity on this page.

Storage1 TB PCIe Gen5 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 M.2 SSD slots

The second M.2 slot allows adding another SSD later.

Display16-inch WQXGA 2560 × 1600, 16:10, IPS, anti-glare; 60–240 Hz, 3 ms

Games need high frame rates to benefit from 240 Hz; the panel follows variable frame rates with G-SYNC.

Brightness and colour500 nits; 100% sRGB; DC dimming (flicker-free), Eyesafe low blue light
KeyboardFull-size, per-key RGB backlight, numeric keypad, NKRO and anti-ghosting
Ports2 × Thunderbolt 4 USB-C (40 Gbit/s, DisplayPort 2.1, power delivery); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbit/s; HDMI 2.1; RJ-45; headphone/mic jack; smart pin power connector

The USB-C ports carry DisplayPort 2.1 for external monitors; HP does not state on this page whether they can charge the laptop itself.

Wired network2.5 GbE Ethernet
WirelessIntel Wi-Fi 7 BE200 (2×2); Bluetooth 5.4
Webcam1080p FHD, IR camera (Windows Hello), dual microphones
AudioTwo speakers, DTS:X Ultra, tuned with HyperX
CoolingOMEN Tempest Cooling; vapour chamber and Cryo Compound thermal material; Fan Cleaner

HP says the Unleashed mode in OMEN Gaming Hub allows manual CPU and GPU overclocking and that Fan Cleaner reduces dust build-up.

Battery83 Wh, 6-cell lithium-ion polymer

Fast charge to about 50% in 30 minutes with the system off (±10%).

Power adapter330 W AC
Dimensions35.7 × 26.9 × 2.3 cm (front) / 2.5 cm (rear)
Weight2.68 kg
BodyShadow Black, aluminium lid and base; light bar
Operating systemWindows 11 Home
Warranty2-year limited (parts and labour)

Warranty terms vary by country.

From the manufacturer

HP says the vapour chamber and Cryo Compound in OMEN Tempest Cooling markedly improve heat dissipation and that Unleashed mode lets components be pushed further. HP Poland

Strengths and limitations

  • On PCWorld's RTX 5080 16-ah0043dx unit the battery lasted about 5.5 hours in a 1080p video loop; the review says the RTX 5080 reaches up to 175 W with Dynamic Boost. It found the keyboard crisp and tactile, the touchpad small and mediocre, and the speakers shrill at high volume.

    PCWorld, May 23, 2025; 16-ah0043dx, Core Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5080, 32 GB, 2 TB, OLED display. Different display from the IPS SKU in this entry.

    PCWorld: HP Omen Max 16 review
  • KitGuru writes that in the Unleashed profile the CPU very quickly hits its thermal limit and throttles, causing marked performance dips; it rated battery life poor and found 1 TB of storage small for this class.

    KitGuru, May 13, 2025; Core Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5080 Laptop, 32 GB, 1 TB, 2560 × 1600 240 Hz, white chassis; no temperature figures in the written text.

    KitGuru: HP OMEN Max 16 laptop review
  • Notebookcheck says the bottom panel comes off with a standard Phillips screwdriver, both SODIMM slots and both M.2 2280 slots are easy to reach, and the Wi-Fi card sits under the cooler. CPU temperatures in games went well above 90 °C.

    Notebookcheck, May 4, 2025; ah000 unit with RTX 5090 Laptop and OLED. The internal layout is the same chassis; temperatures were not measured on the RTX 5080 SKU in this entry.

    Notebookcheck: HP Omen Max 16 laptop review

Owner experiences and issues

  • On the HP Support Community, Leos_Angel wrote that on a 16-ah0000 HDMI worked but a USB-C to DisplayPort 2.1 cable gave no signal. The HP agent suggested enabling USB-C display output in BIOS and updating drivers; after several resets and a reinstall the user reported that USB-C output worked.

    HP Support Community, September 15–18, 2025; single user, 16-ah0000 family with GPU not stated; no definite cause identified.

    HP Support Community: HP Omen Max 16 - Using RTX 5080 with USB4
  • In the same community, silentdeath1 wrote that on an Omen Max 16 with RTX 5090 and 275HX the CPU sometimes reached 100 °C in Balanced mode. The HP agent suggested Performance or Eco mode, a custom fan curve and a BIOS update; no fix was reported.

    HP Support Community, November 17–20, 2025; single user, different configuration with RTX 5090, BIOS version not stated.

    HP Support Community: Hp Omen Max 16 Cpu Overheating

Tags

Compare

Sources

  1. HP Poland: OMEN MAX 16-ah0999nw (B88D7EA) specifications
  2. HP Singapore: OMEN MAX 16 product page
  3. Intel: Core Ultra 9 Processor 275HX specifications
  4. PCWorld: HP Omen Max 16 review
  5. KitGuru: HP OMEN Max 16 laptop review
  6. Notebookcheck: HP Omen Max 16 laptop review
  7. HP Support Community: HP Omen Max 16 - Using RTX 5080 with USB4
  8. HP Support Community: Hp Omen Max 16 Cpu Overheating