ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX / MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX: GU605CX: the RTX 5090 Laptop GPU version; the GU605CX-QR111W and GU605CX-XS98 listed by ASUS come with 64 GB of memory and a 2 TB SSD. In the US, the GU605CX-G16.U9X5090 sold by Best Buy is listed with 32 GB. The same chassis is also sold with the RTX 5060/5070/5070 Ti/5080.

MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US: A9WIG-082US (US, part no. RAIDERA18HX082): Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB DDR5, 2 TB Gen5 SSD, 18-inch UHD+ Mini LED, Windows 11 Pro, Core Black. The RTX 5090 A9WJG, the Ryzen 8000 HX A8WIG and the Intel-based Raider 18 HX AI are separate models.

SpecificationASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CXMSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US
Release year20252025
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 285H; 16 cores, 16 threads; 2.9 GHz base, up to 5.4 GHz; 24 MB cache

The processor’s Intel AI Boost NPU delivers up to 13 TOPS of AI processing; some Windows AI features use this unit instead of the graphics card.

ASUS
AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, 2.5–5.4 GHz

The processor’s stacked extra cache, called 3D V-Cache, keeps frequently used game data close, which helps frame rates especially in large open-world games.

MSI
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop GPU, 24 GB GDDR7; ROG Boost 1647 MHz; 120 W (100 W + 20 W Dynamic Boost)

120 W is the upper power limit including Dynamic Boost: the extra 20 W is shifted to the GPU when the processor load is low and is not always available. The RTX 5070 Ti version of the same chassis is limited to 115 W, and the RTX 5060 and 5070 versions to 105 W.

ASUS
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 16 GB GDDR7; up to 175 W including TGP and Dynamic Boost; boost up to 2,287 MHz

175 W is the highest GPU power MSI gives in this chassis; CPU and GPU together can draw up to 260 W (OverBoost Ultra). The desktop RTX 5080 is a separate card.

MSI
Graphics switchingMUX Switch and NVIDIA Advanced Optimus

Advanced Optimus switches the internal display between the processor’s integrated graphics and the RTX 5090 without a restart. The MUX switch connects the display directly to the RTX 5090, removing the integrated graphics from the path in games.

ASUS
—
Display16-inch 2.5K (2560 × 1600) OLED, 16:10, 240 Hz; 100% DCI-P3; G-Sync; Pantone Validated

240 Hz shows up to 240 frames per second in games; G-Sync matches the display refresh rate to the graphics card’s frame rate to prevent tearing. Pantone Validated means the display colours are verified against Pantone reference colours. ASUS does not give brightness or response time on this page.

ASUS
18-inch UHD+ 3840 × 2400, 16:10, 120 Hz Mini LED; VESA DisplayHDR 1000; 100% DCI-P3

The Mini LED backlight dims zones individually for high HDR brightness and deeper blacks; DisplayHDR 1000 is the tier certifying 1,000-nit peak brightness. Because of the high resolution, refresh is limited to 120 Hz.

MSI
Display surfaceAnti-glare, low-reflection coating (AGLR)

The coating is used to reduce reflections from lamps and windows in bright rooms.

ASUS
—
Memory64 GB LPDDR5X-7467, soldered on board, dual channel; no memory slot

Memory cannot be upgraded later; the capacity chosen at purchase is permanent.

ASUS
32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB); two slots, up to 96 GB

Both slots come filled; reaching 96 GB means fitting two 48 GB modules.

MSI
Storage2 TB M.2 NVMe PCIe 4.0 SSD; 2 × M.2 PCIe slots in total

The second M.2 slot allows an extra SSD. ASUS gives no separate PCIe generation for the free slot.

ASUS
2 TB NVMe SSD (PCIe Gen5 x4); one PCIe Gen5 and one PCIe Gen4 M.2 slot

The second M.2 slot runs at Gen4; an added SSD there tops out at Gen4 speed.

MSI
Ports1 × Thunderbolt 4 (40 Gbps, DisplayPort, power input); 1 × USB-C 10 Gbps (DisplayPort, power input, G-SYNC); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbps; HDMI 2.1 FRL; UHS-II SD card reader (312 MB/s); 3.5 mm audio

Both USB-C ports support an external display and charging; the 10 Gbps USB-C port also carries G-SYNC to an external display. ASUS does not state the USB-C charging power.

ASUS
2 × USB4 Type-C (DisplayPort and PD 3.1; Thunderbolt 4 compatible); 3 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 (8K 60 Hz / 4K 120 Hz); 3.5 mm audio combo jack

The USB4 ports are listed as compatible with Thunderbolt 4 accessories, but MSI does not state separate Thunderbolt certification; PD 3.1 allows USB-C charging, while full gaming power needs the 400 W adapter.

MSI
WirelessWi-Fi 7 (802.11be), tri-band, 2×2; Bluetooth 5.4 ASUS—
Battery and adapter90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 240 W adapter (20 V, 12 A)

ASUS’s Middle East page also lists a 100 W USB-C adapter in the box and notes that the adapter can vary by region and model.

ASUS
99.9 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 400 W adapter

99.9 Wh is just under the limit for laptop batteries allowed on planes.

MSI
Audio2 tweeters and 4 speakers with dual force-cancelling woofers; Smart Amp; Dolby Atmos; 3-microphone array, AI noise cancelling

The force-cancelling woofer layout uses opposing drivers to reduce bass vibration passing into the chassis.

ASUS
—
Camera and keyboard1080p FHD IR camera (Windows Hello); single-zone RGB backlit keyboard; Slash Lighting on the lid

The IR camera enables face sign-in with Windows Hello.

ASUS
—
Dimensions and weight35.4 × 24.6 × 1.49–1.74 cm; 1.95 kg

The RTX 5060 and 5070 versions are 1.64 cm and 1.85 kg; the RTX 5070 Ti, 5080 and 5090 versions are 1.74 cm and 1.95 kg.

ASUS
—
Operating systemWindows 11 Home or Windows 11 Pro (depending on SKU) ASUSWindows 11 Pro; fTPM 2.0 MSI
Card reader and network—Full-size SD card reader (UHS-III); 2.5 Gbit Ethernet; MediaTek Wi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 5.4

UHS-III gives faster reads than UHS-II with compatible cards; the full-size slot reads camera cards without an adapter.

MSI
Audio, camera and keyboard—Dynaudio-tuned 4 × 2 W speakers and 2 × 2 W woofers; 1080p IR camera with privacy shutter; SteelSeries per-key RGB, 99 keys

The IR camera enables Windows Hello face sign-in; the physical shutter blocks the camera.

MSI
Size and weight—404 × 307.5 × 24–32.05 mm; 3.6 kg

The weight excludes the 400 W adapter.

MSI
Warranty and colour—1-year limited warranty (1-year global coverage); Core Black MSI