ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LX / HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw)

ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LX: G635LX · RTX 5090 Laptop GPU · 32 GB / 1 TB or 2×16 GB / 2 TB

HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw): B88D7EA · Core Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB / 1 TB, 2560 × 1600 240 Hz IPS

SpecificationASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LXHP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw)
Release year20252025
Model and configurationG635LX · Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX · RTX 5090 Laptop GPU

ASUS's US spec page shows two G635LX configurations: Windows 11 Home, 1×32 GB, 1 TB, and Windows 11 Pro, 2×16 GB, 2 TB. The G635LW with the RTX 5080 Laptop GPU is a separate model.

ASUS
—
Operating systemWindows 11 Home or Windows 11 Pro (depending on configuration) ASUSWindows 11 Home HP
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache

Intel rates the chip at 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power. In this laptop ASUS allocates 55 W to the CPU in Turbo mode and an extra 25 W in Manual mode; its graphic shows up to 80 W for the CPU.

ASUS
Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache

Intel lists 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power for this chip; actual power in the laptop depends on HP's tuning and cooling.

HP
NPUIntel AI Boost, up to 13 TOPS

TOPS is trillions of operations per second the neural accelerator can perform (Int8). 13 TOPS is below the 40 TOPS Microsoft asks for Copilot+ PCs.

ASUS
Intel AI Boost, 13 TOPS HP
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop GPU; ROG Boost 1647 MHz at 175 W (150 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost); 24 GB GDDR7

175 W is the ceiling including 25 W Dynamic Boost shifted to the GPU when the CPU is lightly loaded; it is not a constant draw in every game. The RTX 5090 Laptop GPU is not the desktop RTX 5090. Graphics memory is soldered.

ASUS
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU; 16 GB GDDR7; Advanced Optimus

This is the laptop RTX 5080, not the desktop card. HP's product sheet does not give the GPU power limit (TGP) for this SKU. Advanced Optimus switches the display between integrated and discrete GPU without a reboot.

HP
GPU switchingNVIDIA Advanced Optimus and Dynamic Boost (Max-Q technologies)

Advanced Optimus can route the panel straight to the discrete GPU when a game starts without a reboot, and fall back to integrated graphics on the desktop to save battery.

ASUS
—
Display16-inch 2560×1600 (16:10) ROG Nebula HDR Mini LED; 240 Hz, 3 ms, 100% DCI-P3, anti-glare

ASUS quotes more than 2,000 local dimming zones and 1,200 nits peak; the peak applies to small HDR highlights, not sustained full-screen brightness. The panel is Pantone Validated.

ASUS
16-inch WQXGA 2560 × 1600, 16:10, IPS, anti-glare; 60–240 Hz, 3 ms

Games need high frame rates to benefit from 240 Hz; the panel follows variable frame rates with G-SYNC.

HP
Variable refresh and HDRNVIDIA G-SYNC; Dolby Vision

G-SYNC matches the panel refresh to the GPU frame rate to reduce tearing. The spec sheet also lists G-SYNC for external displays connected over Thunderbolt 5.

ASUS
—
Panel coatingDual ACR (anti-reflection) layer

ASUS says the layer reduces reflections and improves contrast by 4.5x; this is a manufacturer claim.

ASUS
—
MemoryDDR5-5600 SO-DIMM, two slots, dual channel; 1×32 GB or 2×16 GB; up to 64 GB

SO-DIMM modules are not soldered and can be swapped under the bottom cover. The single 32 GB module configuration runs single-channel until the second slot is filled. The product page mentions DDR5-6400 elsewhere; the spec sheet value of 5600 is used here.

ASUS
32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB), dual-channel; 2 slots

Both slots are filled; upgrading means replacing the modules. HP does not list the maximum capacity on this page.

HP
Storage1 TB or 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; two M.2 slots

SSDs are held by tool-less Q-Latch clips. The ASUS product page calls the slots “PCIe Gen 5 ready”, but the spec sheet says PCIe 4.0 and one independent test reported no 5.0 support. Because of nearby components, only single-sided SSDs are supported.

ASUS
1 TB PCIe Gen5 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 M.2 SSD slots

The second M.2 slot allows adding another SSD later.

HP
Ports2× Thunderbolt 5 (120 Gbit/s; DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC); 3× USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A (10 Gbit/s); HDMI; 2.5G LAN; 3.5 mm audio

120 Gbit/s is the Thunderbolt 5 one-way Bandwidth Boost rate; the normal bidirectional bandwidth is 80 Gbit/s. There is no card reader. The HDMI version is not stated on the spec sheet.

ASUS
2 × Thunderbolt 4 USB-C (40 Gbit/s, DisplayPort 2.1, power delivery); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbit/s; HDMI 2.1; RJ-45; headphone/mic jack; smart pin power connector

The USB-C ports carry DisplayPort 2.1 for external monitors; HP does not state on this page whether they can charge the laptop itself.

HP
WirelessWi-Fi 7 (802.11be) tri-band 2×2; Bluetooth 5.4 ASUSIntel Wi-Fi 7 BE200 (2×2); Bluetooth 5.4 HP
CoolingEnd-to-end vapor chamber, sandwiched heatsink, three fans; liquid metal on CPU and GPU

The third auxiliary fan moves heat from the GPU and VRAM to the heatsinks. The up-to-15 °C drop ASUS quotes for liquid metal comes from its internal test against the previous-generation compound.

ASUS
OMEN Tempest Cooling; vapour chamber and Cryo Compound thermal material; Fan Cleaner

HP says the Unleashed mode in OMEN Gaming Hub allows manual CPU and GPU overclocking and that Fan Cleaner reduces dust build-up.

HP
Power modesTurbo: CPU 55 W + GPU 175 W (230 W total); Manual: CPU 80 W + GPU 175 W (255 W total)

These are the manufacturer ceilings under simultaneous full load; in Silent mode the GPU runs at a far lower limit.

ASUS
—
Service accessTool-less bottom cover: access to two SO-DIMM slots, two M.2 slots and fans

ASUS says the mainboard frame comes off with a few screws. An independent test reported that the Wi-Fi module is soldered.

ASUS
—
KeyboardPer-key RGB chiclet keyboard, ROG Overstroke; NumberPad on the touchpad; Copilot key

Overstroke registers a press earlier in the key travel. ASUS rates the switches for 20 million presses and lists n-key rollover.

ASUS
Full-size, per-key RGB backlight, numeric keypad, NKRO and anti-ghosting HP
LightingAniMe Vision lid display (810 LEDs), wraparound light bar, AURA Sync logo

All lighting can be switched off.

ASUS
—
Camera and audio1080p FHD IR camera (Windows Hello); four speakers, Smart Amp, Dolby Atmos; array microphone

The camera has no mechanical shutter.

ASUS
—
Battery and adapter90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 380 W adapter (20 V/19 A)

The Thunderbolt 5 ports accept power delivery; with a lower-power USB-C charger the battery can still drain under gaming load.

ASUS
—
Size and weight35.4 × 26.8 × 2.28–3.08 cm; 2.80 kg

Adapter weight not included.

ASUS
—
SecurityFirmware TPM, BIOS password ASUS—
Product number—B88D7EA (OMEN MAX 16-ah0999nw)

The OMEN MAX 16 family includes other GPU, display (IPS/OLED) and AMD-based versions; this entry covers the Intel + RTX 5080 + IPS configuration.

HP
Chipset—Intel HM870 HP
Brightness and colour—500 nits; 100% sRGB; DC dimming (flicker-free), Eyesafe low blue light HP
Wired network—2.5 GbE Ethernet HP
Webcam—1080p FHD, IR camera (Windows Hello), dual microphones HP
Audio—Two speakers, DTS:X Ultra, tuned with HyperX HP
Battery—83 Wh, 6-cell lithium-ion polymer

Fast charge to about 50% in 30 minutes with the system off (±10%).

HP
Power adapter—330 W AC HP
Dimensions—35.7 × 26.9 × 2.3 cm (front) / 2.5 cm (rear) HP
Weight—2.68 kg HP
Body—Shadow Black, aluminium lid and base; light bar HP
Warranty—2-year limited (parts and labour)

Warranty terms vary by country.

HP