HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw) / ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB

HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw): B88D7EA · Core Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB / 1 TB, 2560 × 1600 240 Hz IPS

ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB: G614JV-BS74-CB: Intel Core i7-13650HX, GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU 8 GB, 16 GB DDR5, 1 TB SSD, 16-inch FHD+ 165 Hz display (Canadian SKU). The RTX 4050 G614JU, the RTX 4070 G614JI and the QHD+ 240 Hz display versions in the same chassis are separate.

SpecificationHP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw)ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2023) G614JV-BS74-CB
Release year20252023
Product numberB88D7EA (OMEN MAX 16-ah0999nw)

The OMEN MAX 16 family includes other GPU, display (IPS/OLED) and AMD-based versions; this entry covers the Intel + RTX 5080 + IPS configuration.

HP
—
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache

Intel lists 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power for this chip; actual power in the laptop depends on HP's tuning and cooling.

HP
Intel Core i7-13650HX; 14 cores (6 performance + 8 efficiency), 2.6 GHz, up to 4.9 GHz, 24 MB cache

HX-series chips are near-desktop laptop processors that run at high power limits; fan noise and temperature depend on the ASUS power profile chosen.

ASUS
ChipsetIntel HM870 HP—
NPUIntel AI Boost, 13 TOPS HP—
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU; 16 GB GDDR7; Advanced Optimus

This is the laptop RTX 5080, not the desktop card. HP's product sheet does not give the GPU power limit (TGP) for this SKU. Advanced Optimus switches the display between integrated and discrete GPU without a reboot.

HP
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU; 8 GB GDDR6; ROG Boost 2420 MHz; 140 W (115 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost)

2420 MHz is the 2370 MHz boost clock plus a 50 MHz ASUS overclock. 115 W is the upper power class for the RTX 4060 Laptop; Dynamic Boost shifts spare CPU power to the GPU. The graphics chip is soldered to the motherboard and cannot be upgraded.

ASUS
Memory32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB), dual-channel; 2 slots

Both slots are filled; upgrading means replacing the modules. HP does not list the maximum capacity on this page.

HP
16 GB (2 × 8 GB) DDR5-4800 SO-DIMM; 2 slots; up to 32 GB according to ASUS

The memory modules are replaceable; both slots are filled for dual-channel operation.

ASUS
Storage1 TB PCIe Gen5 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 M.2 SSD slots

The second M.2 slot allows adding another SSD later.

HP
1 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 × M.2 PCIe slots

The second M.2 slot can take an additional SSD.

ASUS
Display16-inch WQXGA 2560 × 1600, 16:10, IPS, anti-glare; 60–240 Hz, 3 ms

Games need high frame rates to benefit from 240 Hz; the panel follows variable frame rates with G-SYNC.

HP
16-inch FHD+ (1920 × 1200, 16:10); IPS-level, anti-glare; 165 Hz; 7 ms; sRGB 100%

165 Hz shows smoother motion at up to 165 frames per second in games, provided the game reaches that frame rate. “IPS-level” means ASUS does not state the exact panel type.

ASUS
Brightness and colour500 nits; 100% sRGB; DC dimming (flicker-free), Eyesafe low blue light HP—
KeyboardFull-size, per-key RGB backlight, numeric keypad, NKRO and anti-ghosting HP—
Ports2 × Thunderbolt 4 USB-C (40 Gbit/s, DisplayPort 2.1, power delivery); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbit/s; HDMI 2.1; RJ-45; headphone/mic jack; smart pin power connector

The USB-C ports carry DisplayPort 2.1 for external monitors; HP does not state on this page whether they can charge the laptop itself.

HP
1 × Thunderbolt 4 (DisplayPort, 40 Gbit/s); 1 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C (DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC, 10 Gbit/s); 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 FRL; RJ45 LAN; 3.5 mm audio jack

The Thunderbolt 4 port does not accept charging; USB-C charging goes through the other Type-C port. There is no SD card reader.

ASUS
Wired network2.5 GbE Ethernet HP—
WirelessIntel Wi-Fi 7 BE200 (2×2); Bluetooth 5.4 HPWi‑Fi 6E (triple band, 2 × 2); Bluetooth 5.2 ASUS
Webcam1080p FHD, IR camera (Windows Hello), dual microphones HP—
AudioTwo speakers, DTS:X Ultra, tuned with HyperX HP—
CoolingOMEN Tempest Cooling; vapour chamber and Cryo Compound thermal material; Fan Cleaner

HP says the Unleashed mode in OMEN Gaming Hub allows manual CPU and GPU overclocking and that Fan Cleaner reduces dust build-up.

HP
—
Battery83 Wh, 6-cell lithium-ion polymer

Fast charge to about 50% in 30 minutes with the system off (±10%).

HP
—
Power adapter330 W AC HP—
Dimensions35.7 × 26.9 × 2.3 cm (front) / 2.5 cm (rear) HP—
Weight2.68 kg HP—
BodyShadow Black, aluminium lid and base; light bar HP—
Operating systemWindows 11 Home HP—
Warranty2-year limited (parts and labour)

Warranty terms vary by country.

HP
—
Keyboard and lighting—Per-key RGB backlit chiclet keyboard; Aura Sync light bar

There is no numeric keypad.

ASUS
Audio and camera—2 speakers, Dolby Atmos, AI noise cancelling; 720p HD camera

There is no face-recognition camera or fingerprint reader.

ASUS
Battery and power—90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 280 W adapter (ø6.0 mm)

The 280 W adapter is needed for full GPU and CPU power; performance drops on battery.

ASUS
Operating system and security—Windows 11 Home; firmware TPM; BIOS password ASUS
Size and weight—35.4 × 26.4 × 2.26–3.04 cm; 2.50 kg ASUS