HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw) / MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US

HP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw): B88D7EA · Core Ultra 9 275HX, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB / 1 TB, 2560 × 1600 240 Hz IPS

MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US: A9WIG-082US (US, part no. RAIDERA18HX082): Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB DDR5, 2 TB Gen5 SSD, 18-inch UHD+ Mini LED, Windows 11 Pro, Core Black. The RTX 5090 A9WJG, the Ryzen 8000 HX A8WIG and the Intel-based Raider 18 HX AI are separate models.

SpecificationHP OMEN MAX 16 (16-ah0999nw)MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US
Release year20252025
Product numberB88D7EA (OMEN MAX 16-ah0999nw)

The OMEN MAX 16 family includes other GPU, display (IPS/OLED) and AMD-based versions; this entry covers the Intel + RTX 5080 + IPS configuration.

HP
—
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache

Intel lists 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power for this chip; actual power in the laptop depends on HP's tuning and cooling.

HP
AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, 2.5–5.4 GHz

The processor’s stacked extra cache, called 3D V-Cache, keeps frequently used game data close, which helps frame rates especially in large open-world games.

MSI
ChipsetIntel HM870 HP—
NPUIntel AI Boost, 13 TOPS HP—
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU; 16 GB GDDR7; Advanced Optimus

This is the laptop RTX 5080, not the desktop card. HP's product sheet does not give the GPU power limit (TGP) for this SKU. Advanced Optimus switches the display between integrated and discrete GPU without a reboot.

HP
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 16 GB GDDR7; up to 175 W including TGP and Dynamic Boost; boost up to 2,287 MHz

175 W is the highest GPU power MSI gives in this chassis; CPU and GPU together can draw up to 260 W (OverBoost Ultra). The desktop RTX 5080 is a separate card.

MSI
Memory32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB), dual-channel; 2 slots

Both slots are filled; upgrading means replacing the modules. HP does not list the maximum capacity on this page.

HP
32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB); two slots, up to 96 GB

Both slots come filled; reaching 96 GB means fitting two 48 GB modules.

MSI
Storage1 TB PCIe Gen5 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 M.2 SSD slots

The second M.2 slot allows adding another SSD later.

HP
2 TB NVMe SSD (PCIe Gen5 x4); one PCIe Gen5 and one PCIe Gen4 M.2 slot

The second M.2 slot runs at Gen4; an added SSD there tops out at Gen4 speed.

MSI
Display16-inch WQXGA 2560 × 1600, 16:10, IPS, anti-glare; 60–240 Hz, 3 ms

Games need high frame rates to benefit from 240 Hz; the panel follows variable frame rates with G-SYNC.

HP
18-inch UHD+ 3840 × 2400, 16:10, 120 Hz Mini LED; VESA DisplayHDR 1000; 100% DCI-P3

The Mini LED backlight dims zones individually for high HDR brightness and deeper blacks; DisplayHDR 1000 is the tier certifying 1,000-nit peak brightness. Because of the high resolution, refresh is limited to 120 Hz.

MSI
Brightness and colour500 nits; 100% sRGB; DC dimming (flicker-free), Eyesafe low blue light HP—
KeyboardFull-size, per-key RGB backlight, numeric keypad, NKRO and anti-ghosting HP—
Ports2 × Thunderbolt 4 USB-C (40 Gbit/s, DisplayPort 2.1, power delivery); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbit/s; HDMI 2.1; RJ-45; headphone/mic jack; smart pin power connector

The USB-C ports carry DisplayPort 2.1 for external monitors; HP does not state on this page whether they can charge the laptop itself.

HP
2 × USB4 Type-C (DisplayPort and PD 3.1; Thunderbolt 4 compatible); 3 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 (8K 60 Hz / 4K 120 Hz); 3.5 mm audio combo jack

The USB4 ports are listed as compatible with Thunderbolt 4 accessories, but MSI does not state separate Thunderbolt certification; PD 3.1 allows USB-C charging, while full gaming power needs the 400 W adapter.

MSI
Wired network2.5 GbE Ethernet HP—
WirelessIntel Wi-Fi 7 BE200 (2×2); Bluetooth 5.4 HP—
Webcam1080p FHD, IR camera (Windows Hello), dual microphones HP—
AudioTwo speakers, DTS:X Ultra, tuned with HyperX HP—
CoolingOMEN Tempest Cooling; vapour chamber and Cryo Compound thermal material; Fan Cleaner

HP says the Unleashed mode in OMEN Gaming Hub allows manual CPU and GPU overclocking and that Fan Cleaner reduces dust build-up.

HP
—
Battery83 Wh, 6-cell lithium-ion polymer

Fast charge to about 50% in 30 minutes with the system off (±10%).

HP
—
Power adapter330 W AC HP—
Dimensions35.7 × 26.9 × 2.3 cm (front) / 2.5 cm (rear) HP—
Weight2.68 kg HP—
BodyShadow Black, aluminium lid and base; light bar HP—
Operating systemWindows 11 Home HPWindows 11 Pro; fTPM 2.0 MSI
Warranty2-year limited (parts and labour)

Warranty terms vary by country.

HP
—
Card reader and network—Full-size SD card reader (UHS-III); 2.5 Gbit Ethernet; MediaTek Wi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 5.4

UHS-III gives faster reads than UHS-II with compatible cards; the full-size slot reads camera cards without an adapter.

MSI
Audio, camera and keyboard—Dynaudio-tuned 4 × 2 W speakers and 2 × 2 W woofers; 1080p IR camera with privacy shutter; SteelSeries per-key RGB, 99 keys

The IR camera enables Windows Hello face sign-in; the physical shutter blocks the camera.

MSI
Battery and adapter—99.9 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 400 W adapter

99.9 Wh is just under the limit for laptop batteries allowed on planes.

MSI
Size and weight—404 × 307.5 × 24–32.05 mm; 3.6 kg

The weight excludes the 400 W adapter.

MSI
Warranty and colour—1-year limited warranty (1-year global coverage); Core Black MSI