ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LX / ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX

ASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LX: G635LX · RTX 5090 Laptop GPU · 32 GB / 1 TB or 2×16 GB / 2 TB

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX: GU605CX: the RTX 5090 Laptop GPU version; the GU605CX-QR111W and GU605CX-XS98 listed by ASUS come with 64 GB of memory and a 2 TB SSD. In the US, the GU605CX-G16.U9X5090 sold by Best Buy is listed with 32 GB. The same chassis is also sold with the RTX 5060/5070/5070 Ti/5080.

SpecificationASUS ROG Strix SCAR 16 (2025) G635LXASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2025) GU605CX
Release year20252025
Model and configurationG635LX · Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX · RTX 5090 Laptop GPU

ASUS's US spec page shows two G635LX configurations: Windows 11 Home, 1×32 GB, 1 TB, and Windows 11 Pro, 2×16 GB, 2 TB. The G635LW with the RTX 5080 Laptop GPU is a separate model.

ASUS
—
Operating systemWindows 11 Home or Windows 11 Pro (depending on configuration) ASUSWindows 11 Home or Windows 11 Pro (depending on SKU) ASUS
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache

Intel rates the chip at 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power. In this laptop ASUS allocates 55 W to the CPU in Turbo mode and an extra 25 W in Manual mode; its graphic shows up to 80 W for the CPU.

ASUS
Intel Core Ultra 9 285H; 16 cores, 16 threads; 2.9 GHz base, up to 5.4 GHz; 24 MB cache

The processor’s Intel AI Boost NPU delivers up to 13 TOPS of AI processing; some Windows AI features use this unit instead of the graphics card.

ASUS
NPUIntel AI Boost, up to 13 TOPS

TOPS is trillions of operations per second the neural accelerator can perform (Int8). 13 TOPS is below the 40 TOPS Microsoft asks for Copilot+ PCs.

ASUS
—
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop GPU; ROG Boost 1647 MHz at 175 W (150 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost); 24 GB GDDR7

175 W is the ceiling including 25 W Dynamic Boost shifted to the GPU when the CPU is lightly loaded; it is not a constant draw in every game. The RTX 5090 Laptop GPU is not the desktop RTX 5090. Graphics memory is soldered.

ASUS
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop GPU, 24 GB GDDR7; ROG Boost 1647 MHz; 120 W (100 W + 20 W Dynamic Boost)

120 W is the upper power limit including Dynamic Boost: the extra 20 W is shifted to the GPU when the processor load is low and is not always available. The RTX 5070 Ti version of the same chassis is limited to 115 W, and the RTX 5060 and 5070 versions to 105 W.

ASUS
GPU switchingNVIDIA Advanced Optimus and Dynamic Boost (Max-Q technologies)

Advanced Optimus can route the panel straight to the discrete GPU when a game starts without a reboot, and fall back to integrated graphics on the desktop to save battery.

ASUS
—
Display16-inch 2560×1600 (16:10) ROG Nebula HDR Mini LED; 240 Hz, 3 ms, 100% DCI-P3, anti-glare

ASUS quotes more than 2,000 local dimming zones and 1,200 nits peak; the peak applies to small HDR highlights, not sustained full-screen brightness. The panel is Pantone Validated.

ASUS
16-inch 2.5K (2560 × 1600) OLED, 16:10, 240 Hz; 100% DCI-P3; G-Sync; Pantone Validated

240 Hz shows up to 240 frames per second in games; G-Sync matches the display refresh rate to the graphics card’s frame rate to prevent tearing. Pantone Validated means the display colours are verified against Pantone reference colours. ASUS does not give brightness or response time on this page.

ASUS
Variable refresh and HDRNVIDIA G-SYNC; Dolby Vision

G-SYNC matches the panel refresh to the GPU frame rate to reduce tearing. The spec sheet also lists G-SYNC for external displays connected over Thunderbolt 5.

ASUS
—
Panel coatingDual ACR (anti-reflection) layer

ASUS says the layer reduces reflections and improves contrast by 4.5x; this is a manufacturer claim.

ASUS
—
MemoryDDR5-5600 SO-DIMM, two slots, dual channel; 1×32 GB or 2×16 GB; up to 64 GB

SO-DIMM modules are not soldered and can be swapped under the bottom cover. The single 32 GB module configuration runs single-channel until the second slot is filled. The product page mentions DDR5-6400 elsewhere; the spec sheet value of 5600 is used here.

ASUS
64 GB LPDDR5X-7467, soldered on board, dual channel; no memory slot

Memory cannot be upgraded later; the capacity chosen at purchase is permanent.

ASUS
Storage1 TB or 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; two M.2 slots

SSDs are held by tool-less Q-Latch clips. The ASUS product page calls the slots “PCIe Gen 5 ready”, but the spec sheet says PCIe 4.0 and one independent test reported no 5.0 support. Because of nearby components, only single-sided SSDs are supported.

ASUS
2 TB M.2 NVMe PCIe 4.0 SSD; 2 × M.2 PCIe slots in total

The second M.2 slot allows an extra SSD. ASUS gives no separate PCIe generation for the free slot.

ASUS
Ports2× Thunderbolt 5 (120 Gbit/s; DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC); 3× USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A (10 Gbit/s); HDMI; 2.5G LAN; 3.5 mm audio

120 Gbit/s is the Thunderbolt 5 one-way Bandwidth Boost rate; the normal bidirectional bandwidth is 80 Gbit/s. There is no card reader. The HDMI version is not stated on the spec sheet.

ASUS
1 × Thunderbolt 4 (40 Gbps, DisplayPort, power input); 1 × USB-C 10 Gbps (DisplayPort, power input, G-SYNC); 2 × USB-A 10 Gbps; HDMI 2.1 FRL; UHS-II SD card reader (312 MB/s); 3.5 mm audio

Both USB-C ports support an external display and charging; the 10 Gbps USB-C port also carries G-SYNC to an external display. ASUS does not state the USB-C charging power.

ASUS
WirelessWi-Fi 7 (802.11be) tri-band 2×2; Bluetooth 5.4 ASUSWi-Fi 7 (802.11be), tri-band, 2×2; Bluetooth 5.4 ASUS
CoolingEnd-to-end vapor chamber, sandwiched heatsink, three fans; liquid metal on CPU and GPU

The third auxiliary fan moves heat from the GPU and VRAM to the heatsinks. The up-to-15 °C drop ASUS quotes for liquid metal comes from its internal test against the previous-generation compound.

ASUS
—
Power modesTurbo: CPU 55 W + GPU 175 W (230 W total); Manual: CPU 80 W + GPU 175 W (255 W total)

These are the manufacturer ceilings under simultaneous full load; in Silent mode the GPU runs at a far lower limit.

ASUS
—
Service accessTool-less bottom cover: access to two SO-DIMM slots, two M.2 slots and fans

ASUS says the mainboard frame comes off with a few screws. An independent test reported that the Wi-Fi module is soldered.

ASUS
—
KeyboardPer-key RGB chiclet keyboard, ROG Overstroke; NumberPad on the touchpad; Copilot key

Overstroke registers a press earlier in the key travel. ASUS rates the switches for 20 million presses and lists n-key rollover.

ASUS
—
LightingAniMe Vision lid display (810 LEDs), wraparound light bar, AURA Sync logo

All lighting can be switched off.

ASUS
—
Camera and audio1080p FHD IR camera (Windows Hello); four speakers, Smart Amp, Dolby Atmos; array microphone

The camera has no mechanical shutter.

ASUS
—
Battery and adapter90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 380 W adapter (20 V/19 A)

The Thunderbolt 5 ports accept power delivery; with a lower-power USB-C charger the battery can still drain under gaming load.

ASUS
90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 240 W adapter (20 V, 12 A)

ASUS’s Middle East page also lists a 100 W USB-C adapter in the box and notes that the adapter can vary by region and model.

ASUS
Size and weight35.4 × 26.8 × 2.28–3.08 cm; 2.80 kg

Adapter weight not included.

ASUS
—
SecurityFirmware TPM, BIOS password ASUS—
Graphics switching—MUX Switch and NVIDIA Advanced Optimus

Advanced Optimus switches the internal display between the processor’s integrated graphics and the RTX 5090 without a restart. The MUX switch connects the display directly to the RTX 5090, removing the integrated graphics from the path in games.

ASUS
Display surface—Anti-glare, low-reflection coating (AGLR)

The coating is used to reduce reflections from lamps and windows in bright rooms.

ASUS
Audio—2 tweeters and 4 speakers with dual force-cancelling woofers; Smart Amp; Dolby Atmos; 3-microphone array, AI noise cancelling

The force-cancelling woofer layout uses opposing drivers to reduce bass vibration passing into the chassis.

ASUS
Camera and keyboard—1080p FHD IR camera (Windows Hello); single-zone RGB backlit keyboard; Slash Lighting on the lid

The IR camera enables face sign-in with Windows Hello.

ASUS
Dimensions and weight—35.4 × 24.6 × 1.49–1.74 cm; 1.95 kg

The RTX 5060 and 5070 versions are 1.64 cm and 1.85 kg; the RTX 5070 Ti, 5080 and 5090 versions are 1.74 cm and 1.95 kg.

ASUS