HP OMEN 35L (GT16-1002na) / MSI Codex Z2 A8NVL-484US

HP OMEN 35L (GT16-1002na): D01LHEA#ABU · Ryzen 9 9900X3D, RTX 5080 16 GB, 64 GB / 2 TB, 240 mm liquid cooling

MSI Codex Z2 A8NVL-484US: A8NVL-484US (US): Ryzen 7 8700F, desktop RTX 5060 8 GB, 16 GB DDR5, 2 TB NVMe, Windows 11 Home, black; MSI keyboard and mouse in the box. Codex Z2 versions with RTX 5060 Ti or 1 TB, and the Intel-based Codex R2, are separate models.

SpecificationHP OMEN 35L (GT16-1002na)MSI Codex Z2 A8NVL-484US
Release year20252025
Product numberD01LHEA#ABU (OMEN 35L GT16-1002na)

The OMEN 35L is sold with different processor, GPU, memory and cooling options; this entry is the Ryzen 9 9900X3D + RTX 5080 configuration.

HP
—
ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 9900X3D; 12 cores, 24 threads, up to 5.5 GHz, 128 MB L3

Part of the 128 MB L3 comes from second-generation 3D V-Cache; the large cache reduces trips to memory, which helps especially in games. AMD rates default TDP at 120 W.

HP
AMD Ryzen 7 8700F; 8 cores / 16 threads, 4.1–5.0 GHz, 65 W

A Zen 4, 4 nm, AM5-socket processor with 8 MB L2 + 16 MB L3 cache. It has no integrated graphics, so video comes from the graphics card. AMD lists an AI engine of up to 16 TOPS.

MSI
MotherboardAMD B850 chipset, microATX HP—
Graphics cardNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080, 16 GB GDDR7

This is the desktop RTX 5080. HP does not state the card's maker or model.

HP
—
Video outputs1 × HDMI 2.1b, 3 × DisplayPort 2.1b (on the graphics card); rear USB-C with DisplayPort 1.4 HP1 × HDMI 2.1; 3 × DisplayPort (on the graphics card)

Because the CPU has no integrated graphics, the monitor must be connected to the graphics card ports, not the motherboard.

MSI
Memory64 GB (2 × 32 GB) Kingston FURY DDR5-6000 EXPO RGB; 2 of 4 slots used, up to 128 GB

HP notes the memory may run at 5600 MT/s by default with Ryzen 9000 and that 6000 MT/s requires enabling the EXPO profile in BIOS.

HP
16 GB DDR5

AMD lists DDR5-5200 with one or two modules per channel and up to 256 GB for the Ryzen 7 8700F. The sheet does not state how many modules are installed.

MSI
Storage2 TB PCIe Gen4 NVMe M.2 SSD; 3 M.2 slots in total (2 SSD, 1 WLAN) HP—
Expansion slots1 × PCIe x16, 1 × PCIe x4 HP—
Power supply1000 W ATX, 80 Plus Gold

The standard ATX size makes later replacement easier; 80 Plus Gold indicates high conversion efficiency.

HP
—
CPU cooling240 mm liquid cooler with LCD HP—
Front ports1 × USB-C 10 Gbit/s, 2 × USB-A 5 Gbit/s, headphone/mic jack HP—
Rear ports2 × USB-C 10 Gbit/s (one with DisplayPort 1.4), 2 × USB-A 5 Gbit/s, 4 × USB 2.0, 3.5 mm audio, RJ-45

There is no USB4 or Thunderbolt port.

HP
—
NetworkingRealtek 2.5 GbE; MediaTek MT7925 Wi-Fi 7 (2×2); Bluetooth 5.4 HPRealtek 8111H 1 GbE; Wi-Fi 6E MSI
Audio5.1 surround, DTS:X HP—
CaseShadow Black metal, textured finish; tool-less upgrade access; padlock and Kensington slot HP—
Dimensions21 × 40.8 × 41 cm (W × D × H) HP—
Weight14.5 kg HP21.3 lb (about 9.7 kg) MSI
Operating systemWindows 11 Home HP—
Warranty1-year limited (parts and labour)

Warranty terms vary by country.

HP
—
Graphics—NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 (desktop), 8 GB GDDR7, 128-bit; 3840 CUDA cores; 145 W total graphics power

Figures are for NVIDIA’s reference design; the board partner card may differ in clock speed. It supports DLSS 4 Multi Frame Generation. The laptop RTX 5060 is a different power class.

MSI
Chipset—AMD B650

AM5 platform; AMD supports this processor on several chipsets including B650 and X670/X870.

MSI
Storage and expansion—2 TB M.2 NVMe PCIe Gen4 SSD; 2 × M.2 and 4 × SATA 6 Gbit/s connections in total

The second M.2 slot and SATA connections allow an extra SSD or drive to be added.

MSI
Power supply and cooling—650 W 80 PLUS Gold; air CPU cooler

NVIDIA recommends at least 550 W system power for the desktop RTX 5060; 650 W leaves headroom above that.

MSI
Front panel—1 × USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 Type-C; 1 × USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A; microphone and headphone jacks

USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 allows up to 20 Gbit/s with compatible external SSDs.

MSI
Rear panel—3 × USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A (5 Gbit/s); 4 × USB 2.0 MSI
Software, box and warranty—Windows 11 Home; MSI gaming keyboard and mouse; 1-year warranty MSI