MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US / ASUS TUF Gaming F15 (2023) FX507VV4

MSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082US: A9WIG-082US (US, part no. RAIDERA18HX082): Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, RTX 5080 Laptop GPU 16 GB, 32 GB DDR5, 2 TB Gen5 SSD, 18-inch UHD+ Mini LED, Windows 11 Pro, Core Black. The RTX 5090 A9WJG, the Ryzen 8000 HX A8WIG and the Intel-based Raider 18 HX AI are separate models.

ASUS TUF Gaming F15 (2023) FX507VV4: FX507VV4-BS72-CB: Intel Core i7-13620H, GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU 8 GB, 16 GB DDR5, 1 TB SSD, 15.6-inch FHD 144 Hz display. The FX507ZC, FX507VI and the AMD-based TUF A15 with other CPUs and GPUs are separate models.

SpecificationMSI Raider A18 HX A9WIG-082USASUS TUF Gaming F15 (2023) FX507VV4
Release year20252023
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 16 GB GDDR7; up to 175 W including TGP and Dynamic Boost; boost up to 2,287 MHz

175 W is the highest GPU power MSI gives in this chassis; CPU and GPU together can draw up to 260 W (OverBoost Ultra). The desktop RTX 5080 is a separate card.

MSI
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4060 Laptop GPU, 8 GB GDDR6; 2420 MHz at 140 W (115 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost)

NVIDIA gives a 35–115 W subsystem power range for this GPU; this model uses the top of it and adds 25 W more with Dynamic Boost. The graphics chip is soldered and cannot be replaced.

ASUS
ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, 2.5–5.4 GHz

The processor’s stacked extra cache, called 3D V-Cache, keeps frequently used game data close, which helps frame rates especially in large open-world games.

MSI
Intel Core i7-13620H; 10 cores (6 performance + 4 efficiency), 16 threads, up to 4.9 GHz, 24 MB cache

Intel lists 45 W base and 115 W maximum turbo power for this processor.

ASUS
Display18-inch UHD+ 3840 × 2400, 16:10, 120 Hz Mini LED; VESA DisplayHDR 1000; 100% DCI-P3

The Mini LED backlight dims zones individually for high HDR brightness and deeper blacks; DisplayHDR 1000 is the tier certifying 1,000-nit peak brightness. Because of the high resolution, refresh is limited to 120 Hz.

MSI
15.6-inch FHD (1920 × 1080) IPS-level panel; 144 Hz, sRGB 100%, anti-glare surface, G-SYNC

“IPS-level” means ASUS does not state the exact panel type; wide viewing angles are promised.

ASUS
Memory32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB); two slots, up to 96 GB

Both slots come filled; reaching 96 GB means fitting two 48 GB modules.

MSI
16 GB DDR5-4800 SO-DIMM; 2 slots, up to 64 GB

The two-slot layout lets memory be upgraded later.

ASUS
Storage2 TB NVMe SSD (PCIe Gen5 x4); one PCIe Gen5 and one PCIe Gen4 M.2 slot

The second M.2 slot runs at Gen4; an added SSD there tops out at Gen4 speed.

MSI
1 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; 2 × M.2 slots

The second M.2 slot is free for an additional SSD.

ASUS
Ports2 × USB4 Type-C (DisplayPort and PD 3.1; Thunderbolt 4 compatible); 3 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 (8K 60 Hz / 4K 120 Hz); 3.5 mm audio combo jack

The USB4 ports are listed as compatible with Thunderbolt 4 accessories, but MSI does not state separate Thunderbolt certification; PD 3.1 allows USB-C charging, while full gaming power needs the 400 W adapter.

MSI
1 × Thunderbolt 4 (DisplayPort, 40 Gbps), 1 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-C (DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC), 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A, 1 × HDMI 2.1 FRL, 1 × RJ45 LAN, 1 × 3.5 mm audio jack

There is no SD card reader.

ASUS
Card reader and networkFull-size SD card reader (UHS-III); 2.5 Gbit Ethernet; MediaTek Wi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 5.4

UHS-III gives faster reads than UHS-II with compatible cards; the full-size slot reads camera cards without an adapter.

MSI
—
Audio, camera and keyboardDynaudio-tuned 4 × 2 W speakers and 2 × 2 W woofers; 1080p IR camera with privacy shutter; SteelSeries per-key RGB, 99 keys

The IR camera enables Windows Hello face sign-in; the physical shutter blocks the camera.

MSI
—
Battery and adapter99.9 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 400 W adapter

99.9 Wh is just under the limit for laptop batteries allowed on planes.

MSI
—
Size and weight404 × 307.5 × 24–32.05 mm; 3.6 kg

The weight excludes the 400 W adapter.

MSI
35.4 × 25.1 × 2.24–2.49 cm; 2.20 kg ASUS
Operating systemWindows 11 Pro; fTPM 2.0 MSI—
Warranty and colour1-year limited warranty (1-year global coverage); Core Black MSI—
Graphics switching—MUX Switch + NVIDIA Advanced Optimus

The MUX switch connects the internal display directly to the NVIDIA GPU; Advanced Optimus can switch without a restart.

ASUS
Wireless—Wi‑Fi 6 (802.11ax) 2 × 2 ASUS
Battery and power—90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 240 W adapter (ø6.0 mm)

Full GPU power needs the 240 W adapter in the box.

ASUS
Keyboard—Single-zone RGB backlit chiclet keyboard ASUS
Audio and camera—2 speakers, Dolby Atmos; 720p HD camera

There is no face recognition camera or fingerprint reader.

ASUS
Operating system and security—Windows 11 Home; TPM, Kensington lock slot ASUS