| Release year | 2025 | 2025 |
|---|
| Model and configuration | G635LX · Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX · RTX 5090 Laptop GPU ASUS's US spec page shows two G635LX configurations: Windows 11 Home, 1×32 GB, 1 TB, and Windows 11 Pro, 2×16 GB, 2 TB. The G635LW with the RTX 5080 Laptop GPU is a separate model. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Operating system | Windows 11 Home or Windows 11 Pro (depending on configuration) ASUS | Windows 11 Pro; fTPM 2.0 MSI |
|---|
| Processor | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX; 24 cores (8 P + 16 E), 24 threads, up to 5.4 GHz, 36 MB cache Intel rates the chip at 55 W base and 160 W maximum turbo power. In this laptop ASUS allocates 55 W to the CPU in Turbo mode and an extra 25 W in Manual mode; its graphic shows up to 80 W for the CPU. ASUS | AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX3D, 2.5–5.4 GHz The processor’s stacked extra cache, called 3D V-Cache, keeps frequently used game data close, which helps frame rates especially in large open-world games. MSI |
|---|
| NPU | Intel AI Boost, up to 13 TOPS TOPS is trillions of operations per second the neural accelerator can perform (Int8). 13 TOPS is below the 40 TOPS Microsoft asks for Copilot+ PCs. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Graphics | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop GPU; ROG Boost 1647 MHz at 175 W (150 W + 25 W Dynamic Boost); 24 GB GDDR7 175 W is the ceiling including 25 W Dynamic Boost shifted to the GPU when the CPU is lightly loaded; it is not a constant draw in every game. The RTX 5090 Laptop GPU is not the desktop RTX 5090. Graphics memory is soldered. ASUS | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop GPU, 16 GB GDDR7; up to 175 W including TGP and Dynamic Boost; boost up to 2,287 MHz 175 W is the highest GPU power MSI gives in this chassis; CPU and GPU together can draw up to 260 W (OverBoost Ultra). The desktop RTX 5080 is a separate card. MSI |
|---|
| GPU switching | NVIDIA Advanced Optimus and Dynamic Boost (Max-Q technologies) Advanced Optimus can route the panel straight to the discrete GPU when a game starts without a reboot, and fall back to integrated graphics on the desktop to save battery. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Display | 16-inch 2560×1600 (16:10) ROG Nebula HDR Mini LED; 240 Hz, 3 ms, 100% DCI-P3, anti-glare ASUS quotes more than 2,000 local dimming zones and 1,200 nits peak; the peak applies to small HDR highlights, not sustained full-screen brightness. The panel is Pantone Validated. ASUS | 18-inch UHD+ 3840 × 2400, 16:10, 120 Hz Mini LED; VESA DisplayHDR 1000; 100% DCI-P3 The Mini LED backlight dims zones individually for high HDR brightness and deeper blacks; DisplayHDR 1000 is the tier certifying 1,000-nit peak brightness. Because of the high resolution, refresh is limited to 120 Hz. MSI |
|---|
| Variable refresh and HDR | NVIDIA G-SYNC; Dolby Vision G-SYNC matches the panel refresh to the GPU frame rate to reduce tearing. The spec sheet also lists G-SYNC for external displays connected over Thunderbolt 5. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Panel coating | Dual ACR (anti-reflection) layer ASUS says the layer reduces reflections and improves contrast by 4.5x; this is a manufacturer claim. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Memory | DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM, two slots, dual channel; 1×32 GB or 2×16 GB; up to 64 GB SO-DIMM modules are not soldered and can be swapped under the bottom cover. The single 32 GB module configuration runs single-channel until the second slot is filled. The product page mentions DDR5-6400 elsewhere; the spec sheet value of 5600 is used here. ASUS | 32 GB DDR5-5600 (2 × 16 GB); two slots, up to 96 GB Both slots come filled; reaching 96 GB means fitting two 48 GB modules. MSI |
|---|
| Storage | 1 TB or 2 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD; two M.2 slots SSDs are held by tool-less Q-Latch clips. The ASUS product page calls the slots “PCIe Gen 5 ready”, but the spec sheet says PCIe 4.0 and one independent test reported no 5.0 support. Because of nearby components, only single-sided SSDs are supported. ASUS | 2 TB NVMe SSD (PCIe Gen5 x4); one PCIe Gen5 and one PCIe Gen4 M.2 slot The second M.2 slot runs at Gen4; an added SSD there tops out at Gen4 speed. MSI |
|---|
| Ports | 2× Thunderbolt 5 (120 Gbit/s; DisplayPort, power delivery, G-SYNC); 3× USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A (10 Gbit/s); HDMI; 2.5G LAN; 3.5 mm audio 120 Gbit/s is the Thunderbolt 5 one-way Bandwidth Boost rate; the normal bidirectional bandwidth is 80 Gbit/s. There is no card reader. The HDMI version is not stated on the spec sheet. ASUS | 2 × USB4 Type-C (DisplayPort and PD 3.1; Thunderbolt 4 compatible); 3 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A; HDMI 2.1 (8K 60 Hz / 4K 120 Hz); 3.5 mm audio combo jack The USB4 ports are listed as compatible with Thunderbolt 4 accessories, but MSI does not state separate Thunderbolt certification; PD 3.1 allows USB-C charging, while full gaming power needs the 400 W adapter. MSI |
|---|
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be) tri-band 2×2; Bluetooth 5.4 ASUS | — |
|---|
| Cooling | End-to-end vapor chamber, sandwiched heatsink, three fans; liquid metal on CPU and GPU The third auxiliary fan moves heat from the GPU and VRAM to the heatsinks. The up-to-15 °C drop ASUS quotes for liquid metal comes from its internal test against the previous-generation compound. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Power modes | Turbo: CPU 55 W + GPU 175 W (230 W total); Manual: CPU 80 W + GPU 175 W (255 W total) These are the manufacturer ceilings under simultaneous full load; in Silent mode the GPU runs at a far lower limit. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Service access | Tool-less bottom cover: access to two SO-DIMM slots, two M.2 slots and fans ASUS says the mainboard frame comes off with a few screws. An independent test reported that the Wi-Fi module is soldered. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Keyboard | Per-key RGB chiclet keyboard, ROG Overstroke; NumberPad on the touchpad; Copilot key Overstroke registers a press earlier in the key travel. ASUS rates the switches for 20 million presses and lists n-key rollover. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Lighting | AniMe Vision lid display (810 LEDs), wraparound light bar, AURA Sync logo All lighting can be switched off. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Camera and audio | 1080p FHD IR camera (Windows Hello); four speakers, Smart Amp, Dolby Atmos; array microphone The camera has no mechanical shutter. ASUS | — |
|---|
| Battery and adapter | 90 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 380 W adapter (20 V/19 A) The Thunderbolt 5 ports accept power delivery; with a lower-power USB-C charger the battery can still drain under gaming load. ASUS | 99.9 Wh, 4-cell lithium-ion; 400 W adapter 99.9 Wh is just under the limit for laptop batteries allowed on planes. MSI |
|---|
| Size and weight | 35.4 × 26.8 × 2.28–3.08 cm; 2.80 kg Adapter weight not included. ASUS | 404 × 307.5 × 24–32.05 mm; 3.6 kg The weight excludes the 400 W adapter. MSI |
|---|
| Security | Firmware TPM, BIOS password ASUS | — |
|---|
| Card reader and network | — | Full-size SD card reader (UHS-III); 2.5 Gbit Ethernet; MediaTek Wi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 5.4 UHS-III gives faster reads than UHS-II with compatible cards; the full-size slot reads camera cards without an adapter. MSI |
|---|
| Audio, camera and keyboard | — | Dynaudio-tuned 4 × 2 W speakers and 2 × 2 W woofers; 1080p IR camera with privacy shutter; SteelSeries per-key RGB, 99 keys The IR camera enables Windows Hello face sign-in; the physical shutter blocks the camera. MSI |
|---|
| Warranty and colour | — | 1-year limited warranty (1-year global coverage); Core Black MSI |
|---|