Phones · 2025 · Apple

Apple iPhone Air

The iPhone Air is Apple's thinnest phone at 5.64 mm: a 6.5-inch 120 Hz OLED display, the A19 Pro chip, a single 48 MP rear camera and eSIM only. Its thinness costs battery, speaker and camera features; tests put battery life close to the iPhone 17 and well behind the Pro models.

256 GB · Sky Blue; model number varies by market (US A3260)

Specifications

SpecificationValue
Display6.5-inch Super Retina XDR OLED (6.55 inches as a standard rectangle); 2736 × 1260, 460 ppi; Dynamic Island, Always-On

Because the corners are rounded, the visible area is slightly smaller than the rectangular measurement.

Refresh rateProMotion, adaptive up to 120 Hz

The panel varies its rate with the content, keeping scrolling smooth and lowering the rate for still images and Always-On to save power.

Brightness1000 nits typical, 1600 nits peak HDR, 3000 nits peak outdoor; 1 nit minimum

3000 nits is a short-term peak reached in strong sunlight, not a sustained full-screen brightness.

Front and back glassCeramic Shield 2 front, Ceramic Shield back; fingerprint-resistant and anti-reflective coating
FrameTitanium

GSMArena reports the frame is grade 5 titanium.

ChipA19 Pro; 6-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency), 5-core GPU with Neural Accelerators, 16-core Neural Engine; hardware ray tracing

The A19 Pro in the iPhone 17 Pro models uses a 6-core GPU; the Air's version has 5 GPU cores.

Storage256 GB, 512 GB or 1 TB

Apple says a standard setup uses about 12–24 GB for iOS and deletable apps, and Apple Intelligence models about 7 GB. GSMArena reports 12 GB of RAM in all versions; Apple does not publish RAM size.

Rear camera48 MP Fusion main camera (26 mm, f/1.6, sensor-shift stabilisation); 12 MP optical-quality 2x (52 mm); up to 10x digital zoom; sapphire lens cover

There is a single rear camera; the 2x view uses the centre of the 48 MP sensor rather than a separate telephoto lens. There is no ultrawide or macro camera.

Video4K Dolby Vision at 24/25/30/60 fps; 1080p slo-mo at 120/240 fps; Action mode up to 2.8K 60 fps
Front camera18 MP Center Stage, f/1.9; 4K Dolby Vision up to 60 fps

Center Stage automatically widens and shifts the frame, allowing landscape-style framing while holding the phone upright.

BatteryUp to 27 hours of video, up to 22 hours of streamed video playback

With the separately sold iPhone Air MagSafe Battery, video playback rises to 40 hours. Apple does not give capacity in mAh; GSMArena reports 3149 mAh.

Wired chargingAbout 50% in 30 minutes with a 20 W or higher USB-C adapter

No adapter is included; the box has a 1 m USB-C cable.

Wireless chargingUp to 20 W with MagSafe and Qi2

MagSafe needs a 30 W or higher adapter for 20 W.

USBUSB-C; charging and USB 2 (up to 480 Mbit/s)

The USB 2 speed slows wired transfers of large video files to a computer.

WirelessApple N1 chip: Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be) 2x2 MIMO, Bluetooth 6, Thread; second-generation Ultra Wideband; NFC with reader mode

Wi-Fi 7 availability varies by country; Thread connects to compatible smart-home devices.

Cellular modemApple C1X; 5G (sub-6 GHz) and Gigabit LTE, 4x4 MIMO

mmWave 5G support is not listed.

SIMeSIM only; two active eSIMs, eight or more stored

Physical SIM cards cannot be used; eSIM needs carrier support.

Satellite featuresEmergency SOS and messaging via satellite

Satellite features work only in supported countries; some require a carrier plan.

DurabilityIP68 (IEC 60529); up to 6 metres for up to 30 minutes

Tested under lab conditions; resistance is not permanent and liquid damage is not covered by warranty.

ButtonsAction button and Camera Control

Camera Control adjusts exposure, depth, zoom and styles with a slide.

Dimensions and weight156.2 × 74.7 × 5.64 mm; 165 g

The thickness is for the body and excludes the camera plateau.

SoftwareCurrent boxes ship with iOS 27

According to GSMArena's review, the phone went on sale in September 2025 with iOS 26.

ColoursSpace Black, Cloud White, Light Gold, Sky Blue

From the manufacturer

Apple presents the iPhone Air as its thinnest iPhone yet, with a titanium frame, Ceramic Shield 2 on the front and the A19 Pro, N1 and C1X chips tuned for power efficiency. Apple

Strengths and limitations

  • In GSMArena's measurements brightness on a 75% white area reached 780 nits manually and 998 nits on auto; the panel briefly went above 1700 nits before settling near 1000. The Active Use battery score is 12 hours 44 minutes. With a 20 W PD adapter it reached 33% in 15 minutes, 57% in 30 minutes and full in 1 hour 33 minutes, never exceeding 18 W. The single speaker sits in the earpiece; output was average at -29.8 LUFS with weak bass.

    GSMArena review unit, September 2025; storage not stated. MagSafe charging not measured.

    GSMArena: Apple iPhone Air review, lab tests
  • In GSMArena's sustained-load tests GPU stability was 61% and the CPU settled at 76% after throttling, which the team called reasonable for the thin body. The warmest area was the chip area beside the camera, while the frame stayed cool. Geekbench 6 scored 3775 single-core and 9497 multi-core; the 5-core GPU trails the Pro models in graphics tests.

    GSMArena review unit, September 2025; synthetic tests, ambient temperature not stated.

    GSMArena: Apple iPhone Air review, performance
  • In Tom's Guide's continuous web-surfing test at 150 nits over T-Mobile 5G, the iPhone Air lasted 12 hours 2 minutes; the iPhone 17 ran 12 hours 47 minutes and the 17 Pro Max 17 hours 54 minutes. With the separately sold MagSafe Battery the Air reached 17 hours 15 minutes.

    Tom's Guide battery test, September 2025; one unit, US 5G network.

    Tom's Guide: iPhone Air battery life tested

Owner experiences and issues

  • Buyers on LDLC often praise the lightness and finish, while views on battery life differ. GregoryM (March 2026, 256 GB white) says the battery lasts more than a day, while HenriP (October 2025, 256 GB Sky Blue) says it drains quickly and the phone warms up. MyriamA (August 2026, 1 TB Light Gold) notes sound comes only from the top and the phone does not feel especially light despite being thin.

    LDLC, seven reviews marked as bought from the store; four give product details. Ownership ranges from a week to several months; iOS version not stated.

    LDLC: Apple iPhone Air customer reviews

Tags

Compare

Sources

  1. Apple: iPhone Air technical specifications
  2. GSMArena: Apple iPhone Air review
  3. GSMArena: Apple iPhone Air review, lab tests
  4. GSMArena: Apple iPhone Air review, performance
  5. Tom's Guide: iPhone Air battery life tested
  6. LDLC: Apple iPhone Air customer reviews