Phones · 2026 · Apple

Apple iPhone 17e

The iPhone 17e is Apple's 2026 entry phone: A19 chip, 6.1-inch 60 Hz OLED display, a single 48 MP rear camera, the C1X modem and, new this time, 15 W MagSafe charging. Tests show longer battery life than the iPhone 16e; the 60 Hz display, single camera and USB 2 speed are its main limits.

A3634 · Black, 256 GB

Specifications

SpecificationValue
AnnouncementMarch 2, 2026; on sale from March 11, 2026
ModelA3634

The model number can differ by sales region.

Storage256 GB (a 512 GB option also exists)
Display6.1-inch Super Retina XDR OLED; 2532 × 1170, 460 ppi

Measured as a rectangle the screen is 6.06 inches; the rounded corners make the viewable area smaller.

Brightness800 nits typical; 1,200 nits peak for HDR content

The 1,200-nit figure applies only to HDR content as a short peak.

Front glassCeramic Shield 2

Apple claims 3x better scratch resistance than the previous generation and improved anti-reflection.

BodyAluminium frame, glass back; matte finish
ProcessorApple A19; 6-core CPU (2 performance, 4 efficiency)
Graphics and AI4-core GPU with Neural Accelerators; 16-core Neural Engine; hardware ray tracing

The A19 in the iPhone 17 has a 5-core GPU; the 17e version has 4 GPU cores.

Rear camera48 MP Fusion main camera, 26 mm, f/1.6, OIS; 12 MP 2x (52 mm) images from the same sensor

There is a single rear camera. The 2x option uses the centre of the 48 MP sensor rather than a separate telephoto lens; there is no ultrawide camera.

Video4K Dolby Vision at 24/25/30/60 fps; 1080p slo-mo at 120/240 fps; Cinematic stabilisation
Front camera12 MP TrueDepth, f/1.9, autofocus; video up to 4K 60 fps
AuthenticationFace ID
Battery lifeUp to 26 hours of video; up to 21 hours streamed

Apple does not list the battery capacity in mAh; the times are from Apple's tests and vary with use.

Wired chargingUp to 50% in 30 minutes with a 20 W or higher adapter

No adapter is included; the box contains a 1 m USB-C cable.

Wireless chargingUp to 15 W with MagSafe and Qi2

15 W MagSafe needs a 20 W or higher adapter. The iPhone 16e supported only 7.5 W Qi.

USBUSB-C at USB 2 speed (up to 480 Mbit/s)

USB 2 speed makes wired transfers of large 4K videos to a computer slow.

Cellular modemApple C1X; 5G (sub-6 GHz) and Gigabit LTE with 4×4 MIMO

Apple says the C1X is up to 2x faster than the C1 in the iPhone 16e.

WirelessWi-Fi 6 (802.11ax, 2×2 MIMO); Bluetooth 5.3; NFC with reader mode
LocationGPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS, BeiDou, NavIC
SIMnano-SIM and eSIM; dual eSIM support

The SIM layout can vary by country.

Dimensions146.7 × 71.5 × 7.80 mm
Weight170 g
DurabilityIP68 (IEC 60529); up to 6 m for up to 30 minutes

The resistance is not permanent and can decrease with normal wear; liquid damage is not covered by the warranty.

SafetyCrash Detection

Requires mobile data or Wi-Fi calling.

SoftwareiOS 26
Operating temperature0–35 °C
Colour optionsBlack, White, Soft Pink; this entry is Black

From the manufacturer

Apple says the iPhone 17e doubles entry storage at the same starting price, adds a C1X modem up to 2x faster than the C1 in the iPhone 16e, and uses Ceramic Shield 2 with 3x better scratch resistance. Apple

Strengths and limitations

  • GSMArena measured just over 800 nits on a 75% white area in both manual and auto modes, with no change on a small patch. The display is fixed at 60 Hz, which the team considers weak next to higher-end iPhones.

    GSMArena review unit, March 2026; storage and colour not stated.

    GSMArena: Apple iPhone 17e review, lab tests
  • GSMArena's Active Use battery score is 15 hours 30 minutes, beating the iPhone 16e in most tests. With a 100 W PPS charger it reached 32% in 15 minutes, 59% in 30 minutes and full in 1 hour 34 minutes; power stayed near 25 W for a while before dropping to about 18 W.

    GSMArena review unit; third-party 100 W PPS charger. GSMArena gives the capacity as 4,005 mAh; Apple does not publish a mAh figure.

    GSMArena: Apple iPhone 17e review, lab tests
  • GSMArena rated speaker loudness 'Good' (−26.7 LUFS) and placed the sound among the best in its price range. In the verdict it lists the single rear camera, 60 Hz display, lack of Always On and thick bezels as negatives.

    Lab and verdict sections of the GSMArena review, March 2026.

    GSMArena: Apple iPhone 17e review, verdict
  • Tech Advisor says that using it from about 7 am to 11 pm it ended days with more than 40% battery left. While playing Mini Motorways the phone warmed up at times but did not get very hot. The display is bright enough outdoors but dimmer than the iPhone 17 side by side, with slightly yellowish whites.

    Tech Advisor review; unit storage/colour not stated, exact review period not given; charging times not presented as controlled measurements.

    Tech Advisor: Apple iPhone 17e review
  • AppleVis editor Michael Hansen, who writes for blind users, ended days between March 12 and 29 with 50.2% battery on average; his lowest day was 28% and he never needed a midday charge. He found the speaker louder and fuller at 50% volume than his 17 Pro Max. The phone ran warm at times, especially while charging; it lacks dual-frequency GPS and Ultra Wideband (Precision Finding).

    AppleVis review, April 14, 2026; about three weeks of use, VoiceOver-focused.

    AppleVis: iPhone 17e review (Michael Hansen)

Owner experiences and issues

  • On Alza.at an anonymous buyer with a verified-purchase label praises the performance and build for the price, the Action Button and MagSafe, and finds the camera clearly better than their iPhone 12. Negatives are the lack of an ultrawide camera and the 60 Hz display.

    Alza.at, iPhone 17e 256GB Black page, March 21, 2026; the other 4 reviews on the page are short satisfaction notes.

    Alza.at: iPhone 17e 256GB Black customer reviews
  • In the AppleVis comments, Michele Barbi (Barbuz), who is totally blind and says he bought a 256 GB model in Bologna, writes that he moved from an iPhone SE (2020), his first impressions are good and battery life is 'okay'.

    AppleVis reader comment, April 30, 2026; ownership claim, no purchase verification.

    AppleVis: iPhone 17e review reader comments

Tags

Compare

Sources

  1. Apple: iPhone 17e technical specifications
  2. Apple Newsroom: Apple introduces iPhone 17e
  3. GSMArena: Apple iPhone 17e review, lab tests
  4. GSMArena: Apple iPhone 17e review, verdict
  5. Tech Advisor: Apple iPhone 17e review
  6. AppleVis: iPhone 17e review (Michael Hansen)
  7. AppleVis: iPhone 17e review reader comments
  8. Alza.at: iPhone 17e 256GB Black customer reviews