Laptops · 2026 · ASUS

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2026) GU405

A 14-inch gaming and content-creation laptop with a discrete NVIDIA graphics card. This model code comes with Windows 11 Home, 16 GB of memory, a 1 TB SSD and an RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU. The memory is soldered and cannot be expanded. In reviews, the GPU’s full power comes in Turbo or Manual mode, where fan noise was measured as high.

GU405AR-ZP/G14_97T · Core Ultra 9 386H · RTX 5070 Ti · 16 GB / 1 TB

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2026) GU405 — ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2026) GU405 in Platinum White. Image from the manufacturer’s model page; an Eclipse Grey color also exists, and the screen content is an example.
ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 (2026) GU405 in Platinum White. Image from the manufacturer’s model page; an Eclipse Grey color also exists, and the screen content is an example.

Specifications

SpecificationValue
Announcement6 January 2026 (introduced around CES)
Availability22 May 2026: went on sale in the US at the ASUS Online Store and Best Buy

ASUS does not give a separate on-sale date per model code.

Model codeGU405AR-ZP/G14_97T; Windows 11 Home

ASUS’s GU405 page also lists GU405AR-XB96 (Windows 11 Pro); this entry is the ZP/G14_97T column.

ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 386H; 2.1 GHz base, up to 4.9 GHz; 18 MB cache
Core layout16 cores / 16 threads: 4 performance, 8 efficient, 4 low-power efficient cores

Intel’s processor figure; ASUS does not publish a separate CPU power limit for this laptop.

Neural processor (NPU)Intel NPU, up to 50 TOPS
Integrated graphicsIntel Graphics, 4 Xe cores
Discrete graphicsNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU; not the same processor as the desktop RTX 5070 Ti
Graphics memory12 GB GDDR7
GPU power limitTurbo: 115 W (100 W + 15 W Dynamic Boost); Manual: 130 W (110 W + 20 W Dynamic Boost); 1812 MHz

For both modes ASUS adds 50 MHz OC to a 1762 MHz boost clock. The model page does not give GPU power for Silent and Performance modes.

Display14-inch OLED; 2880 × 1800 (3K); 16:10; 120 Hz; Pantone Validated
Display featuresROG Nebula HDR; 1100 nits peak brightness; VESA DisplayHDR True Black 1000; 100% DCI-P3; 0.2 ms; G-SYNC; ambient light sensor

HDR peak brightness is not a sustained full-screen figure. ASUS’s January 2026 introduction gives 1000 nits peak; the 1100 nits from the sales announcement is used.

Display glassCorning Gorilla Glass with DXC
Memory16 GB LPDDR5X-8533, onboard; no slot, not upgradeable

ASUS lists this model code in both 16 GB and 32 GB columns; this entry is the 16 GB column. Actual memory speed may vary by processor configuration.

Storage1 TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe M.2 SSD
SSD slot1 × M.2 PCIe including the one in use; only single-sided SSDs are supported because of components near the slot
Thunderbolt port1 × Thunderbolt 4 USB-C; DisplayPort and Power Delivery
Other USB1 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 USB-C (DisplayPort, Power Delivery, G-SYNC); 2 × USB 3.2 Gen 2 USB-A
USB-C power and videoBoth USB-C ports support DisplayPort 2.1 and up to 100 W Power Delivery
Video and card readerHDMI 2.1 FRL; full-size SD card reader (UHS-II, 312 MB/s); 3.5 mm combo audio jack
WirelessWi-Fi 7, tri-band, 2 × 2; Bluetooth 6.0

Bluetooth features depend on OS and driver support.

Keyboard1-zone RGB backlight; 1.7 mm key travel
Lid lighting35-zone Slash Lighting on the lid
Camera1080p IR camera; Windows Hello
Audio6 speakers (4 woofers, 2 tweeters); Smart Amp; Dolby Atmos; array microphone; AI noise cancelling
Battery73 Wh; 4-cell lithium-ion (4S1P)
Power adapter250 W rectangular-connector adapter; 20 V / 12.5 A

Whether a charger is included varies by country, region and model.

CoolingROG Intelligent Cooling; redesigned bottom panel with new ventilation and exhaust layout
ChassisCNC-milled aluminum; EasyLift hinge; Platinum White and Eclipse Grey colors
Dimensions311 × 220 × 15.9–18.3 mm
Weight1.58 kg

ASUS’s announcements give 1.5–1.58 kg for the GU405 family; this model page lists 1.58 kg.

SecuritySecured-core PC (Level 3); Pluton security processor; BIOS administrator and user passwords

From the manufacturer

ASUS presents the G14 as a portable chassis with high performance, redesigned ventilation and an OLED display with 1100 nits peak brightness, and says it stays cool and quiet even under heavy load. ASUS ROG

Strengths and limitations

  • Notebookcheck considers the display the strongest part of this refresh: SDR brightness averaged about 514 cd/m², HDR content reached 1140 nits, Display P3 coverage was 99.8% and ColorChecker Delta E was 1.3. It also measured high-frequency (960 Hz), low-amplitude PWM flicker; ASUS offers software flicker-free dimming.

    The test unit had 32 GB memory, a 1 TB SSD and Windows 11 Home; measurements apply to that unit.

    Notebookcheck: One of the best compact gaming laptops gets a brighter OLED - Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 2026 Review
  • In the same test, maximum fan noise was 38.2 dB(A) in Silent, 49.8 dB(A) in Performance and 55.5 dB(A) in Turbo. Notebookcheck writes that full GPU performance needs Turbo, which brings loud fans; in everyday use the laptop stays quiet.

    Same 32 GB / 1 TB unit; GPU driver 610.47. The review does not state the BIOS version.

    Notebookcheck: One of the best compact gaming laptops gets a brighter OLED - Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 2026 Review
  • In Ultrabookreview’s test the GPU ran at about 45 W in Silent mode; the review says ASUS lists 80 W for that mode. The author says a newer BIOS might change this.

    64 GB / 2 TB unit with the 130 W-class RTX 5070 Ti; BIOS version not stated. Observation from a single test unit.

    Ultrabookreview: Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 review (GU405 2026 gen, Intel Panther Lake, RTX 5070Ti)
  • The same review measured head-level noise of under 35 dBA in Silent, about 42 in Performance, about 48 in Turbo and about 52 dBA in Manual. Gaming on a desk reached 80–85 °C, or 75–80 °C with the laptop raised; the processor reached 90 °C or more in Turbo and Manual. The author does not recommend Manual because of noise and limited gains.

    Same 64 GB / 2 TB unit. The measuring method differs from Notebookcheck’s, so the two noise figures should not be compared directly.

    Ultrabookreview: Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 review (GU405 2026 gen, Intel Panther Lake, RTX 5070Ti)
  • Ultrabookreview’s cons list includes a screen that opens only about 130°, ghost touches from the large touchpad on a lap, a weak low-light webcam and no fingerprint reader.

    One reviewer’s observation; not confirmed by other owner reports.

    Ultrabookreview: Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 review (GU405 2026 gen, Intel Panther Lake, RTX 5070Ti)
  • Battery life was roughly 6–14 hours in light use depending on the task, and only a little over an hour when gaming.

    64 GB / 2 TB unit; 73 Wh battery. Results depend on workload and settings.

    Ultrabookreview: Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 review (GU405 2026 gen, Intel Panther Lake, RTX 5070Ti)
  • Geeknetic’s processor stress test reached 96 °C with some throttling (processor peak 79 W); the GPU peaked at 125 W and 77.9 °C. In balanced mode at maximum brightness the battery lasted about 5 hours.

    64 GB / 2 TB unit; GPU run in the 130 W class. Software/BIOS version not stated.

    Geeknetic: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 2026 GU405 Review
  • Geeknetic measured an average factory Delta E of 4.13 with a cool white point and 407 nits SDR peak brightness. Notebookcheck found a Delta E of 1.3 and 514 cd/m² average on the same panel family. The reason for the difference is not explained.

    The units, display profiles and methods may differ; this does not mean every unit of the model gives the same result.

    Geeknetic: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 2026 GU405 Review
  • Noticias3D got 11 hours 45 minutes in its lab battery test; it writes that fan noise approaches 50 dBA in the highest performance modes and considers that a significant figure. It says the cooling keeps performance stable without throttling in all Armoury Crate modes.

    The test unit was Core Ultra 9 386H, RTX 5070 Ti, 64 GB / 2 TB, which differs from the 16 GB / 1 TB version on this page. Battery life may change with the memory difference, and no temperature figures were given.

    Noticias3D: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 2026 review

Tags

Compare

Sources

  1. ASUS ROG: ROG Zephyrus G14 (2026) GU405 tech specs
  2. ASUS ROG: The 2026 ROG Zephyrus G14 and G16 dazzle from every angle (6 January 2026)
  3. ASUS USA: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 and G16 Arrive in the US with Intel Core Ultra Series 3 and RTX 50 Series
  4. Intel: Intel Core Ultra 9 Processor 386H product specifications
  5. Notebookcheck: One of the best compact gaming laptops gets a brighter OLED - Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 2026 Review
  6. Ultrabookreview: Asus ROG Zephyrus G14 review (GU405 2026 gen, Intel Panther Lake, RTX 5070Ti)
  7. Geeknetic: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 2026 GU405 Review
  8. Noticias3D: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G14 2026 review