Phones · 2025 · Apple

Apple iPhone 16e

The iPhone 16e is the entry model Apple added to the iPhone 16 family in February 2025. It has the A18 chip, the C1 cellular modem (Apple’s first in-house design), a 6.1-inch OLED display and a single 48MP rear camera that provides 2x zoom from the same sensor. There is no ultra-wide camera or mmWave 5G; Apple lists no MagSafe, Qi2, Dynamic Island or ProMotion, and wireless charging is limited to Qi. In independent testing the battery lasted slightly longer than the iPhone 16; in carrier measurements the C1 modem was faster than the iPhone 16 on two US networks and slower on one. Owners praise battery life, the camera and the size; some miss an ultra-wide lens and a faster refresh rate.

iPhone 16e (A3212); 128, 256 or 512 GB; matte black and white. Physical SIM support varies by country; the US model uses eSIM only. The 2026 iPhone 17e is a separate model.

Specifications

SpecificationValue
ChipA18; 6-core CPU (2 performance + 4 efficiency), 4-core GPU, 16-core Neural Engine

The A18 in the iPhone 16 has a 5-core GPU; the 16e has one GPU core fewer. The GPU supports hardware-accelerated ray tracing.

Cellular modemApple C1; 5G (sub-6 GHz, 4×4 MIMO), Gigabit LTE (4×4 MIMO)

The C1 is the first Apple-designed modem used in an iPhone. mmWave 5G is not supported; that band is used only in some countries for very high short-range speeds.

Display6.1-inch Super Retina XDR OLED; 2532 × 1170, 460 ppi

Typical maximum brightness is 800 nits and HDR peak 1,200 nits; 2,000,000:1 contrast, P3 wide colour and True Tone. Apple does not list Dynamic Island or ProMotion for this model.

Design and glassAluminium enclosure, Ceramic Shield front, glass back
Storage128, 256 or 512 GB
Rear camera48MP Fusion main camera (26 mm, ƒ/1.6, optical image stabilisation); 12MP 2x telephoto (52 mm) from the same sensor

Apple lists the 2x telephoto as a mode the main camera “also enables”; there is no separate lens. Digital zoom up to 10x. There is no ultra-wide or macro camera.

Video4K at 24/25/30/60 fps Dolby Vision; 1080p slo-mo at 120/240 fps; 4K 60 fps on the front camera

The rear camera offers optical and cinematic stabilisation for video, spatial audio recording and wind noise reduction.

Front camera12MP TrueDepth, ƒ/1.9, autofocus; Face ID
Battery and chargingUp to 26 hours of video playback; 50% in 30 minutes with a 20W or higher adapter; Qi wireless charging; built-in lithium-ion

Up to 21 hours of streamed video and 90 hours of audio playback. Apple does not list MagSafe or Qi2. No power adapter is in the box, only a 1 m USB-C cable.

PortUSB-C; USB 2 (up to 480 Mb/s)

Moving large video files over a cable is slower than on Pro models with USB 3.

WirelessWi-Fi 6 (802.11ax, 2×2 MIMO); Bluetooth 5.3; NFC with reader mode

Emergency SOS, Messages and Find My via satellite are supported; availability depends on the country.

SIMDual eSIM (two active lines at once)

Models sold outside the US also have a physical SIM tray.

DurabilityIP68 under IEC 60529 (up to 6 metres for 30 minutes)

Apple says resistance may decrease over time and liquid damage is not covered by warranty.

Action buttonCan be set to Silent mode, camera, flashlight, Visual Intelligence, a shortcut and other functions
Size and weight146.7 × 71.5 × 7.80 mm; 167 g

From the manufacturer

Apple presents the iPhone 16e with the A18 chip, Apple Intelligence support, a 48MP Fusion camera offering “two cameras in one” and the C1, which it calls the most power-efficient modem ever in an iPhone, as the 6.1-inch iPhone with the longest battery life. Apple Support

Strengths and limitations

  • In Tom’s Guide’s cellular web-browsing test with the screen fixed at 150 nits, the iPhone 16e lasted 12 hours 41 minutes. The iPhone 16, retested in the same round, lasted 12:13, the iPhone 16 Pro 14:07 and the iPhone SE (2022) 9:05. The author attributes part of the gap to the C1 modem; Apple does not publish battery capacity, so capacities could not be compared.

    Tom’s Guide battery test (27 February 2025), single unit.

    Tom’s Guide: iPhone 16e battery life tested
  • According to Ookla data reported by MacRumors, the iPhone 16e beat the Qualcomm-modem iPhone 16 in median download speed on Verizon (140.77 vs 124.4 Mb/s) and AT&T (226.9 vs 146.49 Mb/s), while the iPhone 16 was about 24% faster on T-Mobile. The 16e led on upload on all three carriers and did better in weak signal. Without mmWave, the iPhone 16 stayed ahead on peak speeds. Sample size and test dates were not disclosed.

    Ookla US sub-6 GHz data, MacRumors report (19 March 2025); sample size not stated.

    MacRumors: iPhone 16e C1 modem test (Ookla data)

Owner experiences and issues

  • Best Buy’s unlocked black page has 703 reviews; all 19 visible ones are incentivised verified purchases. Battery life is the most praised point: ZaneK says it lasts a full day of heavy use and LongN says it lasts a long time. arqcolmenares counts the missing ultra-wide camera and MagSafe as drawbacks, and ZaneK the basic refresh rate compared with Pro models. ENRIQUER would not recommend the camera for heavy photography. Josh, after six months, reports glitches including a false “Low Power Mode” warning. No visible review mentions signal or modem problems.

    Best Buy US, iPhone 16e 128GB unlocked black (SKU 6507523); 19 visible of 703 reviews, all incentivised. Some reviews are labelled iPhone 16 on the page.

    Best Buy: Apple iPhone 16e 128GB (unlocked, black) customer reviews
  • About a third of the 40 reviews on French retailer LDLC’s page are about the product itself; the rest concern in-store advice and delivery. ElisabethB, LineP and FaustineP highlight night photos and battery life, and LucieL says the charge lasts through daily use. SashaB finds the missing ultra-wide lens annoying and Norag thinks it costs more than rivals. Franck26n says the screen is small, touch sometimes does not respond and audio is weak; this is a single report.

    LDLC France, iPhone 16e 128GB white page; 40 reviews (October 2025–October 2026), store and delivery comments separated; black-version reviews also appear on the page.

    LDLC: Apple iPhone 16e 128GB white customer reviews

Tags

Compare

Sources

  1. Apple Support: iPhone 16e technical specifications
  2. Apple Newsroom: Apple debuts iPhone 16e
  3. Tom’s Guide: iPhone 16e battery life tested
  4. MacRumors: iPhone 16e C1 modem test (Ookla data)
  5. Best Buy: Apple iPhone 16e 128GB (unlocked, black) customer reviews
  6. LDLC: Apple iPhone 16e 128GB white customer reviews